Over the Bar(s)…

Over the last 10+ months my focus has been more on passing bars than training for races. I predicted that this might be the case when I was profiled for my marathon running in the UC College of Law Alumni Magazine. What I said was definitely true: “Studying for a bar is like its own version of a marathon.”

So the good news is: I passed the Ohio Bar and I am feeling very confident about doing the same with the Kentucky Bar.

The bad news (at least as to running) is: Maintaining the mental intensity necessary to really train hard has been very hard for me over the last 10+ months. I’ve certainly had streaks where I’ve felt motivated and started to get after it, but ultimately those spurts of inspiration have dissipated with more pressing career-based landmarks on the horizon.

With bars out of my life for the near future, it’s time for me to get serious about running again. Not only because I feel like I have more to accomplish but also because I am just a better person when I’m training hard and getting after a big running goal!

I’ve decided that my next adventure is going to be training for the Mohican 50 Miler in June. This will be my first ever ultra-marathon, and I will be posting more about why I decided to do it, but for now, it’s all about getting in more volume and becoming more sure-footed on the trail!

Until next time.

https://instagram.com/p/zsVmWGlb30/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment