return to return

Well, my running since the Flying Pig Marathon the first weekend in May has been almost non-existent. When I say non-existent I guess I should qualify that. There have been weeks when I have run as many as 70 miles; however, those weeks have been few and far between, and there have been far more weeks when I have run 0-19 miles.

There have also been weeks when I’ve made it back up to 40-50 miles, but those have not been numerous.

As far as racing goes, I won a trail race over the summer on residual Flying Pig training. After that pretty much nothing other than the Detroit Marathon Relay where I had the fastest leg on a 6.4 mile course. That was kind of encouraging, but I really didn’t do much to build upon what I had.

Bottom-line: If I’m going to have any kind of success in 2015, I need to get back into the swing of things before its too late.

But what’s too late? That’s an ominous question for me right now. That’s because I basically have no clue about my current fitness level. I know I”m not in mid 2:20 marathon shape, but I don’t know if I would go out at run 2:40 or 2:50 or 3:20. I’m hoping that my current value is closer to the beginning of that list, and if it’s not, then I want to just pretend like it is.

So what’s next?

There’s no getting around the fact that I just need to start running more. Last week I was sick, and then this week I tried to come back on New Years Day for a 9 mile run. It didn’t go great and yesterday, I actually felt sick again from coming back too soon. Tomorrow I will try an easy 10 and hope that lights a fire for me.

Onward and Upward!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment